Application for Michigan Notary Public Commissions are accepted at the County Clerk's Office during regular business hours.
To qualify for a notary appointment:
- You must be at least 18 years old.
- A resident of the State of Michigan or if you are a non-Michigan resident maintain a principal place of business in the State of Michigan.
- A resident of the County in which you request appointment.
- You must be a U.S. citizen or proof of legal presence, read and write in English, and be free of any felony/misdemeanor convictions and other violations as described in the law.
Effective June 2019, the new application process will be as follows:
- The applicant must complete the notary application from the Secretary of State and acquire a surety bond in the sum of $10,000 from a surety agent licensed to do business in this state. Visit the Michigan Secretary of State website for surety bonding information.
- NOTE: Effective June 2019 per the Michigan Secretary of State, all applications must be completed in a typed PDF format; handwritten applications will not be accepted.
- The applicant must file a surety bond and a nonrefundable $10 filing fee at the County Clerk.
- The County Clerk shall verify the bond, administer the Oath as required by the constitution and affix the county seal to the application.
- The applicant shall submit via mail the county approved application to the Secretary of State along with the required nonrefundable $10 application fee. (Check or money order payable to The State of Michigan)
- The Office of the Great Seal within the Secretary of State shall review the application and may conduct a background check.
- The Secretary of State approves or denies the application after a review of the application, payment of the proper fee and results of any background investigation.
- When the Secretary of State approves an application, the applicant receives their notary commission by mail. Notary commissions expire six (6) years from your next birthday at the time of commission issuance.
- When the Secretary of State denies an application, the applicant receives a denial letter with appeal rights by mail.
For additional information on becoming a Notary Public, visit the State of Michigan's Website.
To verify whether a person is a Notary Public in the State of Michigan, click here.
You may also access the Secretary of State's application for becoming a Notary Public in PDF format.
Notarization of documents
Due to staffing reductions, the Bay County Clerk's office has suspended notary service. For notarization of your documents, please visit either the Register of Deeds Office on the 1st floor or the Treasurers Office on the 6th floor of the Bay County Building during regular business hours.