Bay County Retirement Board

Steve Gray- Chairperson
Matthew Pett- Vice Chairperson

Bay County Building
515 Center Avenue
Bay City, Michigan 48708-5941
Voice: (989) 895-4043
Fax: (989) 895-4113

The Bay County Employees' Retirement System, established on January 1 1947, is created to provide retirement income to qualifying employees and former employees, survivor income to their qualifying beneficiaries, and limited death and disability benefits; to provide the administration and maintenance of the retirement system; to create a retirement board and prescribe the power and duties of the retirement board; to establish certain reserves for the retirement system; and to provide remedies.

The Board of Trustees meet on the second Tuesday of the month at 1:30 p.m. in the Commission Chambers on the fourth floor of the Bay County Building.



Please be advised that the Bay County EmploymentRetirement System Board and VEBA Board meetings will meet via ZOOM Video Conferencing on Tuesday, August 11, 2020 at 1:30 p.m. Public access to this meeting will be at the Bay County Community Center, 108 John F. Kennedy Drive,Bay City, MI 48706.

This is a regular meeting of the Boards and it is being held electronically consistent with, and in accordance with, the Open Meetings Act and the Governor’s Executive Orders for the purpose minimizing the potential spread of COVID 19 coronavirus.


Topic: Retirement and VEBA Board Meetings for June 2020

Time: August, 2020 1:30 PM Eastern Time (US and Canada)


Join Zoom Meeting

Meeting ID: 884 3717 7496
Passcode: 497769
One tap mobile
+19292056099,,88437177496#,,,,,,0#,,497769# US (New York)
+13017158592,,88437177496#,,,,,,0#,,497769# US (Germantown)

Dial by your location
+1 929 205 6099 US (New York)
+1 301 715 8592 US (Germantown)

Meeting ID: 884 3717 7496
Passcode: 497769
Find your local number:

Bay County Board of Trustees 2019

  • Treasurer - Shawna Walraven
  • Bay Medical Care Facility Representative - Kristal Gonzales
  • Board of Commissioner Representative - Thomas Herek
  • General Group Representative - Jon Morse
  • Road Commission/Department of Water and Sewer Representative - Steve Gray
  • Bay Arenac Behavioral Health Representative - Richard Gromaski
  • Library/Sheriff Representative - Matthew Pett
  • Board of Commissioner Representative - Thomas Ryder
  • Board of Human Services Representative - Sandy Shutt

Staff members for the Bay County Retirement Board include:  


Jan Histed
(989) 895-4030 

Retirement Administrator/ Accountant

Katie Zanotti
(989) 895-4043