Office of the Bay County Treasurer

Shawna S. Walraven, Treasurer

Bay County Building
515 Center Avenue, Suite 103
Bay City, Michigan 48708-5122
Voice: (989) 895-4285
Fax: (989) 895-4082

Bay County Land Bank

Bay City Home for Sale

221 and 221½ North Sherman

Invitation to bid on 221 North Sherman - Single family home 1BR /1Bath, 592 square feet also on single lot is 221 ½ North Sherman. $2,500 Minimum Bid, Bids Are Competitive Successful bidder will complete the following within nine (9) months of bid award:

  • Repair all code violations; and
  • 221½ North Sherman, 576 square feet, requires demolition. Demolition shall be carried out per applicable local, state and federal regulations.

In addition:

  • 221 North Sherman must be owner occupied for five (5) years after purchase; and
  • All bidders to show proof of funds and submit a detailed plan outlining costs, time frames to complete and planned use.
  • Deed will be escrowed until demolition of 221½ North Sherman and repairs to 221 North Sherman are completed and bidder receives Certificate of Occupancy from the City of Bay City.

To Submit a Bid:

Fill out this form or come to Bay County Treasurers Office at 515 Center Avenue, Bay City, MI 48706. 

A walk through of the property is scheduled for May 13, 2019 at 12-1pm.

Contact the Bay County Treasurer’s Office at 989-895-4285 for information. Deadline for bids is May 20, 2019.

Bay County Land Bank Authority

The Bay County Land Bank Authority was created by the Bay County Board of Commissioners on August 11, 2009 via resolution no. 2009-144 pursuant to 2003 P.A. 258, MCL 124.773(4).  The Authority is comprised of seven (7) members representing specific groups:  Treasurer, County Executive, two members of the County Board of Commissioners, two representatives of local units of government selected by a majority of the County Board plus a general public representative.  The role of the Land Bank Authority is to deal with unique property issues or to dispose of properties that may not sell at a public auction.  The Treasurer and County Executive serve as long as they hold office, the County Board representatives serve two years or as long as they hold office, the township representatives (2) serve terms of one year and two years, respectively, and the general public representative shall serve a three year term.  After the expiration of the initial terms, members appointed under Section 4.01(d) and (e) shall be appointed  in the same manner as the original appointments but for terms of three (3) years.


 Date Appointed

 Term Expires

Shawna S. Walraven
County Treasurer
515 Center Ave.
Bay City, MI  48708

 Term Of Office

Debbie Kiesel
Bay City Community Development Director
301 Washington Ave.
Bay City, MI 48708



Michael E. Lutz
County Commissioner
515 Center Ave.
Bay City, MI  48708


 Term Of Office

Tom Ryder
County Commissioner
515 Center Ave.
Bay City, MI  48708


 Term Of Office

Frances DeWyse
Hampton Township Trustee
P.O. Box 187
Bay City, MI 48707



Andrew Niedzinski, City Commissioner
City of Bay City
301 Washington Avenue
Bay City, MI 48708



Matt deHeus
At Large Representative
1709 Borton Ave
Essexville, MI  48732