INSTRUCTIONS FOR ISSUANCE OF A MARRIAGE
LICENSE FOR QUT-OF-STATE APPLICANTS
WHO WILL MARRY IN BAY COUNTY

Please foliow these steps to obtain a Michigan license to marry in Bay County:
1. Complete the information on the Affidavit.

2. Both you and your fiance’ should sign the Affidavit, but not untif you appear in front of a
Notary Public for the state in which you reside. The Notary should observe you sign and
date where indicated.

3. Be sureto mark the appropriate box on the application showing the educational material
was received.

4. Mail the original completed and notarized Affidavit to our office, along with photocopies of
each applicants current state-issued drivers license (or state ID} no more than 33 days
prior to the ceremony, also enclosing a check or money order for $30.00.

5. Please note that for a prior marriage(s) that resulted in a divorce, a copy of the Judgement
of Divorce is required for each. For prior a marriage(s) that ended due to a death, a copy of

the Death Certificate is required as well.

Your Marriage License will be available for pick up at this office prior to your ceremony during
normal office hours (8 to 5, Monday through Friday). A friend or family member may pick it up
for you if you are unable to do so. Please be sure to verify all information as changes require an

order of the Court.
If you have any questions concerning this matter, please call our office at (989} 895-4280.

Cynthia A. Luczak
Bay County Clerk
515 Center Avenue
Bay City, Ml 48708



AFFIDAVIT FOR LICENSE TO MARRY

STATE OF MICHIGAN

County of

No.

The Undersigned, being duly sworn, depose(s) and say(s) that:

FULLNAME (First, Middle, Last)  [] MALE [] FEMALE FULLNAME (First, Micdls, Last) ] MALE [JFEMALE
SURNAME ON BIRTH CERTIFICATE, IF DiFFERENT SURNAME CON BIRTH CERTIFICATE, IF DIFFERENT
w
& PRESENT AGE DATE CF BIRTH PRESENT AGE DATE OF BIRTH
2
8
BIRTHPLACE ~ CITY AND STATE BIRTHPLACE — CITY AND STATE
RESIDENCE NO. STREET RESIDENCE NO. STREET
CITY, STATE, AND ZIP CODE CITY, STATE, AND ZIP CODE
> RESIDENCE COUNTY TIMES PREVIOUSLY MARRIED RESIDENCE COUNTY TIMES PREVIOUSLY MARRIED
@ FULL NAME (First, Middle,Last) FULL NAME (First, Middle,Last)
>
o SURNAME AT BIRTH BIRTHPLACE SURNAME AT BIRTH BIRTHPLACE
o
FULL NAME (First, Middle,Last) FULL NAME {First, Middle, Last)

SURNAME AT BIRTH BIRTHPLACE

SURNAME AT BIRTH BIRTHPLACE

intend to marry and that this affidavit is made for the purpose of obtaining a marriage license; that each of the above-named
persons is of the age required by law, is not related to the other within the degree prohibited by statute and is of sufficient
mental capacity to contract marriage; that said persons are acquainted with the laws of the State of Michigan relative 1o
marriage; that there is no legal impediment to said marriage; and that to the best knowledge and belief of the undersigned

all of the foregoing statements are true.

I:] Educational materials regarding prenatal care and the transmission and prevention of venereal disease and
HIV infection as well as information on the availability of tests for these diseases have been received.

Signature Signature

Social Security Number Social Security Number

Subscribed to before me: Dthe County Clerk: |:| a Notary Public of County,

acting in County, and whose commission expires on » 20 ;

or |:| other person authorized to administer oaths, and sworn to on , 20 .
Signature

DCH-D484 (Rev. 09/2015} AUTHORITY: ACT 368, PA. 1978



GETTING MARRIED IN MICHIGAN? WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW....

Who can marry....

To be able to marry you must not be married to someone else. (MCL 551.5) if you have been married before, you may be
asked to document that the earlier marriage has ended due to death or divorce.

To obtain a Michigan marriage license the couple must be 18 years of age or older and be able to enter into legal
contracts. (MCL 551.103)

if 16 or 17 years of age, a person can apply for a license but must have parental consent or consent of their legal

guardian to marry. if custody of a person applying for a license under the age of 18 has been awarded by the court, the
consent must be from a custodial parent. (MCL 551.51 and 551.103)

Where to apply and where to marry....

If either of the couple are Michigan residents, they must apply with the county clerk where one or both have legal
residence. Once the license is issued, Michigan residents can marry anywhere in the state. (MCL551.101)

If neither of the couple lives in Michigan, they must apply with the county clerk where the marriage ceremony is to be
performed. Once issued, the license can be used only in the issuing county. (MCL 551.101}

In either case, a Michigan license is not valid outside the state of Michigan.

Who can you marry....

There are restrictions on who someone can marry. {MCL 551.3 and 551.4)

A man cannot marry his mother, sister, grandmother, daughter, granddaughter, stepmother, grandfather's wife, son's
wife, grandson's wife, wife's mother, wife's grandmother, wife's daughter, wife's granddaughter, brother's daughter,
sister's daughter, father's sister, mother's sister, or cousin of the first degree,

A woman cannot marry her father, brother, grandfather, son, grandson, stepfather, grandmother's husband,

daughter's husband, granddaughter's husband, hushand's father, husband’s grandfather, husband's son, husband's
grandson, brother's son, sister's son, father's brother, mother's brother, or cousin of the first degree.

The three day waiting period....

Generally, a marriage license is not issued for a period of three days, including the date of the application,
Applicants can, however, request a waiver of the three day waiting period from the clerk issuing the license.
(MCL 551.103a)

Special notice of perjury....

Note that the application for a marriage license is a sworn affidavit. Making false statements in the marriage license
affidavit is an act of perjury which is a prosecutable offense. (MCL 551.108)
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‘fdrsr;harge from the vagma or‘ten sme!l
@ burning or pain. when urrnatmg
e urmatrng more often - :
e painor cramps in the: tummy area
- e bleeding between periods or after sex

< heavier and more pamful perrods
® 501es.0n vaging, anus orinmouth *.
-warts |n or around vagma and anus -

Some'of the rnost common srgns of STDs for men are:

: e'dnp from the penrs or starned underwear
o e‘-burnrng or-pain when: unnatrng
© . e urinating more. often.:
L epainor swellmg in testes
':'e warts on peris. oranus -
‘o sores on anus or m mouth

\‘Women and men may
B }.;expenence o

e warts | |n throat
. e rgctal pain - L
e blood or pus rn stoo[




Foos Why do I need to know about HIV/AIDS'?*:
_IV/A!DS can aﬁee‘r your lrr‘e and the Irf' 'of_; yo pa_rr

;.rf.-_yeu have rt Many people belreve you an hav
IVcrnfeetron for many. yearsibefore i
-will show Up on a test. This is not tru
“people who become mfeeted with HIV wil
- ugually show it on the test within three months

-:-years n‘ yeu are mfected Knowrng about you
infection early and getting treatment may hel
~you stay healthy longer. Remember the only way
1o know rf you have HIV rnfeetron is 10 be teste

| _'Hfﬁow do you ge’r HIV’?

H_ew do’ you ge’r Hlv from sex?

;.-'You can get H!V rnfectron by havrng sexual rntercourse with
~an infected person whether you are. rnale o ferna!e and .-
e ':whether YOur. sexual partners are. male or femare Sl
- This happens because HIV Is in the semen or vaginal fluj
* ‘ot infected people and can enter the body through"ana |
e _vagrnaf or oral intercotrse. If You, have another untreated
< STD, you could be at more risk for getting HIV If you.a
;-._exposed to |t This is because your bodys d ens '

o 3;_?How do you get HIV from blood’?
";Peopfe wrth HIV have the vrrus in their b!oed When sharing
j:‘rnreeuon needres rnfeeted blood can.be trapped in the el
o orsyringe and then rnjected directly into.the bleodstream‘_
- the next person-who uses the needle. People can become
'f‘_'ff'_-I__jrnfected by sharrng needies and carr grve the vrrus ie'-iherr
o ;i_}.‘fsex partners and therr unbern




- Bables can be born Wrth HIV it the mother is infected.
“ Aninfected woman can. grve HIV to-her. baby before it

" willhave an infected haby. Early treatment can make this

 her. baby wrl! be horn wrthout HIv rntectron In Mrchrgan :

o around you. You won 't get HIV by

| -gchrtdren if the woman becomes rm‘ected The rrsk ot i
-~ gelting HIV from & blood transfusion | IS very tow Al -
'.z__:.'donated btood is now tested for HIV

.' _","'.How do babres get HN from brrth? .

-~ born, durrng hirth or through breast teedrng The chance r
- approximately 25 percent thiat an rnfected pregnant woman

- tisk much lower. Gettrng counseled and tested is the first
~step for an infected woman 1o Increase the’ chance that -

L pregnant women must be tested for HIV, hepatrtrs and othe :
- STDs by their health care providers. You: may refuse. d.
- QOther STDs like hepatrtrs also can be passed from an
¥ rnfected mother to an unbom chrtd e

_:_ﬁfCan you get HlV from everyday contact?
; 'No You woo t get HIV through casual contact wrth peopte

o krssrng (you can 't get Htv trom salrva)
e shakmg hands Sh
e swrmmmg rn a poot or by usrng a hot tub
e ysing a public. restroom .
e eatrng ina restaurant

S _You won t get HtV by grvrng blood

B :_-:How do HIV and STDs aﬁect mamed people’?
Married couples who are both unrnfected who have sex

-~ only with each other and who don’t share neadles to mJeCt -

 drugs are not likely to get HIV or STDs. Remember, many
" people who have HIV.or STDs don’ t know that they are
- infected. You.and your partner need to talk honestly abou_t

- each others sexual hrstorres STDs and the risks for HIV
’_rntectron R




Gettmg tested ﬁ:r HIV;M_ the
zs an zmparmnts [p when begi
a mzzrrzed ife together

be very goed protee ion agamst the sex
:STDs When using a condom, rememy

" .,;Use condems made of latex ru' ski
= you cannot use Jatex rubbers or if you have 2
~ -polyurethane condoms are now available. Fe
o f_’?-feendems are anoiher option. -

-2, Condom use s safest with a water‘. based lubricant
- not use petroleum-based jelly, cold cream, baby oil, buth
- 'marganne or cookmg shodenmgs These can weakee

. the Jatex rubber.condom and cause it to break.

o iubneants may be used eniy with pelyure _hane :

'3 Don t use. dfegai drugs espeeially inj ected drugs
* Many.drug users are addicted and nead to enter
- treatment program as. quaekly as pessd)ie Theu
' _-'_f:f*drugs meludnng alcohiol and some lllegally used-
- prescription drugs canicause peeple to make decision

that eould put them at nsk fer HV and STD Infectio

Is testmg reqmred te get a ma' age i

'-‘-No tosts are requrred for the mamage !mense You ma

“1o consider testmg if you have had ; any STD or
- Shared needles orif you have had 5ex Without using @
. condom, You may wish ) eens:der testmg if you have had
-sex with anyene viho has done : any-of these thmg If you:
- wish to be tested before getting married, be sure
: ;}deetor or hea!th care prowder to exp!am you"‘ ptions, youl
nghts and your respens:btiatfes

‘;.-'.What are my STD testmg optiens’?

T get tested for STDS you can go to yeur own. dector: te

- special STO.clinic at your ocal health depaﬂment'-‘ :

: _f.j=commun|ty clinic. If you | have-an STD, you will be freate
~you do not get s:cker and s0-yout do not infect: your partne
Your partner will have. the: opportunity. te be tested ar
 treated, to0. Everythmg abeut yeur case wdl
‘he kept pnvat




; "'-i:','?a person has HIV and Is. not StCk ihe !ﬂfBCﬂOﬂ can st
_passed to others ' »



) What aremyHIV teéﬁn’g options?

Sk '[_-To get test ed for HiV infection, you can choose anonymous

S § confidential testing. Anonymous means you can get tested

;:_:_f___'-'usmg a special number instead of your name. Confidential
“means that you give your name but your case is kept private.

_ The law protects your privacy.
- You can go to your own doctor, to the health department or

- "other community clinic. If you go to your own doctor, you must
- use your name hut your case will be kept private. To be tested
~ without using your name, you have 1o visit a health department

or other community clinic. Before you can be tested for HV

~ infection, you have 1o sign a consent form that says you talked
~ to a professional about your risk and that you understand
what an HIV test resuit means. If you are infected, you will be
given information and referrals to help you get medical help.

~ The health department wilt help you tell your sexual or needle-
sharing partner about their exposure to HIV.

If yo'u know you have HIV infection, Michigan Law requires
you to tell anyone you are going to have sex with about your
infection before you have sex. Failure to do so is a felony.

For more information about HIV/AIDS or HIV testing,
STDs and prenatal care, call your local health department
or community clinic. For mare information on HIV/AIDS,
call the toll-free Michigan AIDS hotline at
1-800-872-AlDS (2437).

Michigan Departiment
of Community Health

Rick Snyder, Governor
James K. Haveman, Director

MDCH is an Equal Opportunity Employer, Services and Programs._}?_ro\d
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