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 A nonprofit corporation and an independent licensee of the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association 

Traditional Plus Dental Coverage  
Benefits-at-a-Glance Bay County 
Plan 3 Suffix 660 
 

Class I Services 
Oral Exams  Covered – 100%, twice per calendar year 
Bitewing X-rays  Covered – 100%, twice per calendar year 
Full-mouth and Panoramic X-rays  Covered – 100%, once every 60 months 
Prophylaxis (Teeth Cleaning) Covered – 100%, twice per calendar year 
Fluoride Treatment  Covered – 100%, twice per calendar year 
Space Maintainers  Covered – 100%, once per quadrant per lifetime, up to age 19 

Class II Services  
Fillings - permanent teeth Covered – 50%, once every 24 months 
Fillings - primary teeth  Covered – 50%, once every 12 months 
Inlays, Onlays, Crowns and Gold Fillings – permanent teeth  Covered – 50%, once every 60 months, payable for members age 12 and 

older 
Recementing of Inlays, Onlays, Crowns and Bridges Covered – 50%, three per calendar year 
Root Canal Therapy Covered – 50%, once every 12 months for teeth with one or more canals 
Periodontal Scaling and Planning Covered – 50%, once every 24 months 
Occlusal Adjustment Covered – 50%, up to five times a 60-month period 
Periodontic Appliances or Biteguards Covered – 50%, once every 12 months 
General Anesthesia or IV Sedation Covered – 50%, when medically necessary and performed with oral or 

dental surgery 
Oral Surgery including extractions Covered – 50% 
Relining or Rebasing of Partials or Dentures Covered – 50%, once every 36 months per arch 
Tissue Conditioning Covered – 50%, once every 36 months per arch 
Repairs to Existing Partials or Dentures Covered – 50%, up to one-half the approved amount for a new denture in 

any 12-month period 
Palliative Emergency Treatment Covered – 50% 

Class III Services  
Removable Dentures and Partials Covered – 50%, once every 60 months 
Fixed Bridges Covered – 50%, once every 60 months, payable for members age 16 and 

older 

Class IV Services – Orthodontic services for dependents under age 19 

Habit Breaking Appliances Covered – 50% 
Minor Tooth Guidance Appliances Covered – 50% 
Full-Banding Treatment Covered – 50% 
Monthly, Active Treatment Visits Covered – 50% 

Copays and Dollar Maximums 
Copays 50% for class II services and 50% for class III and IV services 
Dollar Maximums  
• Annual Maximum  $1,000 per member for covered class I, II and III services 
• Lifetime Maximum $1,000 per member for covered class IV services 

 
Note: For non-urgent, complex or expensive dental treatment such as crowns, bridges or dentures, members should encourage their dentist 
to submit the claim to Blue Cross for predetermination before treatment begins. If you receive care from a nonparticipating dentist, you may 
be billed for the difference between our approved amount and the dentist’s charge. 
 
 
 

This is intended as an easy-to-read summary. It is not a contract. Additional limitations and exclusions may apply to covered services. For an official description of benefits, please 
see the applicable Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan certificate and riders. Payment amounts are based on the Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan approved amount, less any 
applicable deductible and/or copay amounts required by the plan. This coverage is provided pursuant to a contract entered into in the state of Michigan and shall be construed under 
the jurisdiction and according to the laws of the state of Michigan. 

 


