

# Michigan's Child Restraint Law

Most recent changes will be effective July 1, 2008.

Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of accidental death among persons living in Michigan 1-24 years old.

# **Bolded text indicates Michigan Law.**

Smaller text indicates "best practice" recommendations by national safety advocates\*



### Children under 4 years: must be secured in a child restraint

Infants should ride rear-facing until at least 1 year <u>and</u> 20 pounds. Safety advocates\* recommend that infants continue rear-facing as long as possible for the best protection in a crash. Many "convertible" car seats will allow children to ride rear-facing 30-35 lbs. Please refer to manufacturer's instructions, as height & weight limits vary per child seat.

Safety advocates\* recommend restraining your child in a "5-point" harness system until they are at least 40 lbs. This harness provides the best protection for your child.

# Children 4 - 8 years AND under 4 feet 9 inches: must be secured in a child restraint

Many child seats have forward-facing harness weight limits of 40-65 lbs. (refer to manufacturer's instructions) Safety advocates\* recommend restraining your child in a "5-point" harness system until they are at least 40 lbs before using a booster seat.

Booster seats must be used with the vehicle's lap & shoulder belt. Children should remain in a booster seat until they are about 4 feet 9 inches tall. A child's height is the best predictor of proper seat belt fit.





# Children 8 -16 years, drivers & front seat passengers: must wear safety belt

Safety advocates\* recommend that <u>everyone</u> in the car, regardless of seating position, should always be properly buckled up, either with appropriate car seats, booster seats or vehicle seat belts.

Safety advocates\* recommend children be at least 13 years old before sitting in the front seat.

\*Safety advocates include the American Academy of Pediatrics, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration and Safe Kids Worldwide.

More information: Greater Thumb and Saginaw Safe Kids at 888-580-KIDS (5437) or 810-648-4016