STATE OF MICHIGAN

RICK SNYDER DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE KEITH CREAGH
GOVERNOR AND RURAL DEVELOPMENT DIRECTOR
DATE: September 8, 2011
TO: All Local Health Departments (LHDs)

Attn: Medical Director / Health Officer / Director of Environmental Health

Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development (MDARD)
Attn: Food and Dairy Division Managers

FROM: Sandra Walker, Manager
Food Section
Food and Dairy Division &M/Z/

SUBJECT: Manager Certification Rules to Take Effect

This is just areminder that as of October 2, 2011, the Manager Certification requirement
is in effect for all food establishments that are not exempted by the Michigan Food Law
(MFL) or a statewide variance.

Violation of MFL 82129 or Regulation 570 is neither a critical or noncritical violation. The
recommended compliance approach is as follows:

The facility does not have a certified manager.

MFL 82129 requires that food establishments shall employ a minimum of one managerial
employee who is currently certified under a personnel certification program accredited by the
American National Standards Institute.

Within 90 days you must provide your inspector with verification that your facility now has a
certified manager on staff.

If your computer system does not provide for a way to cite a violation without a criticality
designation, it may be written as a noncritical violation but followed up on and enforced at the
end of the 90-day window. It must be marked as a MFL §2129 or Regulation 570 violation.

Enforcement
The recommended compliance approach is as follows:

¢ Verifying compliance of a manager certification related violation will typically require an
additional follow-up, which would fall between the traditional critical and noncritical
follow-up evaluations. Newly licensed establishments (new and change of ownership)
must have a certified manager by the first day of operation. Agencies may grant a
90-day extension at their discretion, based upon the situation and establishment history.
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¢ Require that a manager be provided 90 days from the date that the agency discovers
that the establishment is not in compliance. Discovering that the establishment doesn’t
have a certified manager or that a certificate is expired will most often occur during a
routine evaluation. Follow-up verification can be achieved through submission of written
certificates and/or written or documented oral updates, in order to minimize on-site visits
as described in the follow-up evaluations guidance memo of February 19, 2010.
Requiring proof of enrollment in a course within a short period is a recommended
method of determining that efforts toward compliance are being actively pursued.

o When compliance has not been achieved in 90 days, determine the reason.

0 When the establishment is working diligently to comply, but the designated
individual is having trouble passing the exam or another reasonable situation
exists, providing an extended compliance date would be an option.

0 When the establishment has not made a reasonable effort to comply, hold an
office conference and determine what your compliance strategy will be, as
outlined in your enforcement policy. Establish a compliance schedule
(i.e. 30 days).

e Upon noncompliance with a time extension, your individual (LHD) enforcement policy’s
progressive steps will need to be followed. This will assure that the firm has received
due process. Possible next steps, as outlined in the model enforcement policy, could
include scheduling an informal hearing to discuss the firm’s lack of compliance, prior to
formal license revocation and/or other legal processes.

o An expired certificate should be treated the same as a loss of a certified manager. Upon
discovery of the expired certificate, require compliance within 90 days. Please
remember that only one individual per establishment must have a valid certificate.
Should additional certified managers be found to have expired certificates, please
provide consultative recommendations to the establishment. Most establishments will
likely appreciate the reminder as maintaining multiple certified managers will help them
maintain compliance and achieve active managerial control.

e There have been reports that some older certificates exist with no expiration date.
Certificates without an expiration date should only be recognized for 5 years from date of
issuance.

Full-Time Requirement Enforcement

The rules require that certain establishments employ at least one certified manager that is a
full-time employee of the establishment. Full-time is defined as “an employee that works an
average of 30 hours per week; or 75 percent of the operating hours if the establishment
operates less than 40 hours per week.”

Rule 2(4) states: a certified manager is defined as one who has direct authority, or exercises
control or supervision over the food employees. The certified manager shall be involved in the
daily operations of the establishment and carry out the person-in-charge duties.

The intent of the requirement is to set the expectation that a certified manager be present during
the majority of the operating hours of at least one shift of the establishment’s operations.
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This language also allows an agency to enforce a minimum amount of certified manager
oversight, particularly in the event that an establishment presents a certificate for an individual
that doesn’t routinely work at the establishment or only works a minimal amount of time (i.e. a
district manager that visits for an hour a week or a fraudulent certificate for a nonemployee).

Since the operating hours and employee scheduling structure of each establishment is unique,
agencies should determine if the intent of the full-time requirement is being met and use
discretion in enforcement. Since many establishments employ more than one certified
manager, looking at the total hours of coverage by all certified managers employed is also an
appropriate method of determining adequate coverage. There is no need for agencies to
determine the exact amount of time each manager works and compare that to the definition. It
is recommended that agencies cite rule 2(1) when a clear lack of certified manager oversight is
found. Citing an establishment when the certified manager is on vacation or off from work ill for
a reasonable period is also not appropriate.

Variances

State-Wide Variances

Rule 5(1) provides authority for the MDARD to issue state-wide variances. The workgroup has
recommended that the department issue the following two variances. The variances will exempt
the following from needing to provide a certified manager:

1. Low risk (X) establishments as defined in the current “MDA Risk-Based Evaluation
Schedule.” Low risk establishments as defined in the current “MDA Risk-Based Evaluation
Schedule” and meet the following description:
Serve or sell only raw or prepackaged, nonpotentially hazardous foods
(non-time/temperature control for safety (TCS) foods).

Do not prepare potentially hazardous foods (TCS foods).

Heat only commercially processed potentially hazardous foods (TCS foods) for hot
holding.

No cooling of potentially hazardous foods (TCS foods).

Preparation/processing and/or packaging limited to nonpotentially
hazardous food only.

Warehousing/storage limited to nonpotentially hazardous food and/or
prepackaged potentially hazardous foods.

Examples: Most convenience store operations, convenience stores serving
precooked hot dogs or sausages, popcorn, nachos, pretzels or frozen pizza,
hot dog carts, and coffee shops; cocktail lounges; theaters; nut kiosks; honey
and maple syrup processors; most bakery operations; candy, snack, pasta,
spice, or other nonpotentially hazardous manufacturer, bottled water
manufacturer; food warehouses.

2. Michigan Office of Services to the Aging, senior congregate nutrition satellite sites
operating in compliance with Michigan Office of Services to the Aging standards, where
food is not prepared but only served on-site and prepared in a licensed kitchen that
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employs a full time certified manager. Food served at these sites would not be held over or
reserved at a later date.

Note: The referenced standards contain food safety standard operating procedures and
minimum staff training requirements for feeding sites. Standards can be viewed at:
http://www.michigan.gov/miseniors/0,1607,7-234-43230 43233 _43341---,00.html

Individual Variances

Rule 5(2) provides authority for the granting of individual variances by MDARD or LHDs. An
individual variance may be granted to §2129(1) of the MFL or any portion of the rules. Agencies
must utilize existing Food Code variance procedures. Please see rule 5.

The workgroup’s discussion was that individual variances should be kept to a minimum. While it
is often difficult to predict what type of variance requests may be made, statewide coordination
in our variance approach is needed to maintain consistency. Some suggestions regarding
variances include:

Appropriate variance examples
¢ Time limited variances for specific hardship situations.
e A variance for an establishment that was once issued temporary licenses, but now
receives a limited fixed license.
e A variance for an establishment that maintains a license but doesn’t have any actual
food preparation occurring, such as a rental hall where food is catered.

Operating history, menu complexity, standard operating procedures, and employee training are
all appropriate items to consider in reviewing whether a variance application should be
approved.

Inappropriate variance examples
e Issuing variances to certain types of establishments that the agency feels should have
been exempted from the MFL requirement to have a certified manager (i.e. nonprofits,
school satellites, etc.).
e Issuing blanket variances to a group of establishments. Variances must be issued
individually based on an individual Food Code compliant application.

Agencies are encouraged to discuss variance requests and enforcement issues with their food
service consultants and share information on the MI-Food listserv.

Agencies with pre-existing manager certification regulations prior to April 1, 2008, that
are more restrictive than those provided under MFL §289-2129(1)(a) may continue
enforcing their current regulations.

For current information you may go to the MDARD website at:
http://www.michigan.gov/mdard/0,4610,7-125-50772 45851 45855-182605--,00.htm]
or contact your MDARD consultant.
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