Bay County CPL Application Procedures
: New Applicants .

Attend and pass an approved NRA certified CPL training course. Obtain NRA approved
CPL training certificate stating, “This course complies with Sec. 5j of 1927 PA 372.”

Go to the Shenff’s Department or County Clerk’s Office to obtain your CPL apphcatlon
kit.

Obtain one 2"x2" passport quality photos of yourself. (No hats or sunglasses.)

Complete the appl.ication, providing the name, complete address and phone aumber of
two (2) references. DO NOT SIGN THE APPLICATION UNTIL PRESENT BEFORE
THE CLERK’S OFFICE.

Go to the County Clerk’s Office with the $105.00 application fee (cash, check or money
order only), a valid driver’s license or Michigan ID, your completed CPL application,
passport quality photos your original CPL training course certificate and a copy of your
CPL training course certihcate

You will sign the application at the Clerk’s Office and swear/affirm the information you
provided on the application is true. :

After applying for your CPL license, go directly to the Sheriff’s Department to be
fingerprinted. Take your receipt to show you paid the fees and submitted your application
along with your valid driver’s license or Michigan ID.

Fingerprints are only taken on Tuesdays, Wednesdavs and Thursdays between the
hours of 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

Upon successful completion of your background checks, the County Cletk’s Office will
schedule you to appear before the Gun Board. You will be sent a postcard with the date,
time and location of the meetmg

2013 Meetine Dates
Meetings begin at 10:00 a.m.
4" Floor Bay County Building

January 3, 2013  Tebruary 7,2013 March 7, 2013

April 3, 2013 (Wednesday) May 2, 2013 June 6, 2013
July (1o be announced) August 1, 2013 September 5, 2013
October 3, 2013 November 7, 2013 DecemberIS, 2013

See back for changes to Michigan’s CPL Law-Effective July 1, 2003




Changes to Michigaﬁ’s CCW Law - Effective July 1, 2003

Effectwe July 1, 2003, Michigan's COW faw will be amended to reflect the following changes:

A licensee who is stopped by a police officer is required to immediafely inform the peace officer that he or.she s -
carrying a firearm. MCL 28.425f(2).

Retired police officers who retired "in good standing” are exempt from the firearm trammg requirements. MCL
28.425L2).

Pistol Free Zones will no ionger apply to retired police officers or pnvate detectives. Also, the followmg CCW licensees
who are on duty and in the course of employment may carry in Pistol Free Zones:.

"i Shenff department corrections officers and posse members

2. Persons employed or contracted by entities listed as pistol free Zones to provxde security.services and is requrred by
his or her employer or by the terms of a contract to carry & concea%ed firearm on the premises of the employing or
contracting entity;

3. Motor ¢anler officers; -

4, Capitol security officers;

' 5, Auxiliary or reserve officers;

6. Parple or pmbatlon officers of the Department of Corrections. -

MCL 28.4250(4). -

The license term is increased from 3 f05 years. MCL 28.425l. :

"Peace Officer,” "Refired Peace Officer,” and "Reserve Peace Oﬂ“ cer," are def ned for purposes of the Firearms Act.
MCL 28.421.

Licensees are authorized to retain their hcense if they move from the county where ihe ficense was granted “The new
address will be reflected when the license is renewed. MCL. 28.425b(1 5).

*» " The county clerk is authonzed to.charge $10fora replacement license.. MCL 28: 425b(15)

The CCW license shall be the same size as a Michigan driver license and shall indicate whether the license hotder s
subject fo any exemptions under the Iew and WhEﬁ"IEI' the icenseisa dup!tcate .
MCL 28:425¢. ;

A suspended or revoked CCW heense must be surrendered to the: gunboard MCL 28 425!3(16)

. The County Concealed Pistot Licensing Board is authorized fo have acecess to the applicant's medzcai records The

board must keep the records confidential. MCL 28.425b(I)(c).

_Thre county clerk may destroy CCW license records one year after the license expires. MCL 28.425b(4 ).

The application and renewal fee is $105,f done at the sheriff's ofﬂce This fee will cover alf costs lncludmg

* fingerprinting. MCL 28.425b{5).
. Local police agencies are authorized to fi ngerpnnt applicants and may cherge an additional $1 5. MCL 28 42513(9) ._
~The number of misdemeanor ccnwctsons that disquahfy an apphcant for an 8»yeer peried foilowzng the conv;ctuon is TR

increased. MCL 28 425b(7)h).

- The 3-year dlsquallﬁcaflon period for & conviction of any misdemeanor is removed and rep!aced wﬂh a hst of

misdemeanors requiring a 3-year disqualif; ication period.-MCL 28.425b(T){i).

The time period a county concealed pistel licensing board has for approving or denylng an application is mcreased
from 30 days to 45 days from receipt of the fingerprint report. MCL. 28. 4256(13).

Applicants wili be required to fi re at !east 3G rounds of ammunition durlng the trammg pregram

MCL 28.425].

The "Firearms and the Law" secttcn of the pistol safety traxnlng course mustbe taught by an attomey oran mdwaduel
trained in the use of deadly force. MCL 28.425j.. .
Concealed pisiols will be allowed in places where liquor by the glass is not the pnm.ary source of income. The
establishment may post a sign prohibing concealed weapons. MCL 28 4250{)(d).

Parking lots of the “pistoi free zones" will not be considered part of the "pistol free zone." MCL 28.4250.

- Canadian police officers are excluded from the {icensmg requirements. MCL 28.432a.
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