coupLE

PARENTS

AFFIDAVIT FOR LICENSE TO MARRY

STATE OF MICHIGAN

County of

No.

The Undersigned, being duly sworn, depose(s) and say(s) that:

FULLNAME (First, Middle, Last) [0 MALE [ FEMALE

FULL NAME  (First, Middle, Last) AMALE [JFEMALE

SURNAME ON BIRTH CERTIFICATE, IF DIFFERENT

SURNAME ON BIRTH CERTIFICATE, IF DIFFERENT

PRESENT AGE DATE OF BIRTH

PRESENT AGE DATE CF BIRTH

BIRTHPLACE -- CITY AND STATE

BIRTHPLACE - CITY AND STATE

RESIDENCE NO. STREET

RESIDENCE NO. STREET

CITY, STATE, AND ZIP CODE

CITY, STATE, AND 2IP CODE

RESIDENCE COUNTY TIMES PREVIOUSLY MARRIED

RESIDENCE COQUNTY TIMES PREVICUSLY MARRIED

FULL NAME (First, Middle Last)

FULL NAME {First, Middle Last}

SURNAKE AT BIRTH BIRTHPLACE

SURNAME AT BIRTH BIRTHPLACE

FULE NAME (Firsl, Middle Lasl) FULL NAME (First, Middie, Lasl)

SURNAME AT BIRTH BIRTHPLACE SURNAME AT BIRTH 8IRTHPLACE

intend to marry and that this affidavit is made for the purpose of obtaining a marriage license; that each of the above-named
persons is of the age required by law, is not related to the other within the degree prohibited by statute and is of sufficient
mental capacity to confract marriage; that said persons are acquainted with the laws of the State of Michigan relative to
marriage; that there is no legal impediment to said marriage; and that to the best knowledge and belief of the undersigned
all of the foregoing statements are true.

L__l Educational materials regarding prenatal care and the fransmission and prevention of venereal disease and
HIV infection as well as information on the availability of tests for these diseases have been received.

Signature Signature

Social Security Number Saocial Security Number

Subscribed to before me: Dthe County Clerk: |:|a Notary Public of County,
acting in County, and whose commissicn expires on , 20 ;
or D other person authorized to administer oaths, and sworn to on , 20

Signature

DCH-0484 (Rev. 09/2015) AUTHORITY! ACT 368, PA. 1978




GETTING MARRIED IN MICHIGAN? WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW....

Who can marry....

To be able to marry you must not be married to someone else, (MCL 551.5) if you have been married before, you may be
asked to document that the earfier marriage has ended due to death or divorce.

To obtain a Michigan marriage license the couple must be 18 years of age or older and be able to enter into legal
contracts. (MCL 551.103)

If 16 or 17 years of age, a person can apply for a license but must have parental consent or consent of their legal
guardian to marry. If custody of a person applying for a license under the age of 18 has been awarded by the court, the

consent must be from a custodial parent. (MCL 551.51 and 551.,103)

Where te apply and where to marry....

If either of the couple are Michigan residents, they must apply with the county clerk where one or both have legal
residence. Once the license is issued, Michigan residents can marry anywhere in the state. (MCL 551.101)

If neither of the couple lives in Michigan, they must apply with the county clerk where the marriage ceremony is to be
performed. Once issued, the license can be used only in the issuing county. (MCL 551,101)

In either case, a Michigan license is not valid outside the state of Michigan.

Whoe can you marry....
There are restrictions on who someone can marry. (MCL 551,3 and 551.4)

A man cannot marry his mother, sister, grandmother, daughter, granddaughter, stepmother, grandfather's wife, son's
wife, grandson's wife, wife's mother, wife's grandmother, wife's daughter, wife's granddaughter, brother's daughter,
sister's daughter, father's sister, mother's sister, or cousin of the first degree,

A woman cannot marry her father, brother, grandfather, son, grandson, stepfather, grandmother's husband,
daughter's husband, granddaughter's hushand, hushand's father, husband's grandfather, husband's son, husband's
grandsaon, brother's son, sister's son, father's brother, mother's brother, or cousin of the first degree.

The three day waiting period....

' Generally, a marriage license is not issued for a period of three days, including the date of the application.
Applicants can, however, request a waiver of the three day waiting period from the clerk issuing the license.

(MCL 551.103a)

Special notice of perjury....

Note that the c_i,ép!iéaﬁon for a marriage ficense is a sworn affidavit. Making false statements in the marriage license
affidavit is an act 6f perjury which is a prosecutable offense. (MCL 551.108)



