Bay County CPL Application Procedures
New Applicants

Attend and pass an approved NRA certified CPL training course. Obtain NRA approved
CPL training certificate stating, “This course complies with Sec. 5j of 1927 PA 372.”

Go to the Sheriff’s Department or County Clerk’s Office to obtain your CPL application
kit.

Obtain one 2"x2" passport quality photos of yourself. (No hats or sunglasses.)

Complete the application, providing the name, complete address and phone number of
two (2) references. DO NOT SIGN THE APPLICATION UNTIL PRESENT BEFORE
THE CLERK’S OFFICE.

Go to the County Clerk’s Office with the $105.00 application fee (cash, check or money
order only), a valid driver’s license or Michigan ID, your completed CPL application,
passport quality photos, your original CPL training course certificate and a copy of your
CPL training course certificate.

You will sign the application at the Clerk’s Office and swear/affirm the information you
provided on the application is true.

Afier applying for your CPL license, go directly to the Sheriff’s Department to be
fingerprinted. Take your receipt to show you paid the fees and submitted your application
along with your valid driver’s license or Michigan ID.

Fingerprints are only taken on Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays between the
hours of 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. .

Upon successful completion of your background checks, the County Clerk’s Office will
schedule your request before the Gun Board. After Gun Board approval, your permit will
be mailed to you. If your appearance before the Gun Board is required, a postcard will be
sent with the date, time and location of the meeting.

2013 Meeting Dates

Meetings begin at 10:00 a.m.
4 Floor Bay County Building

January 3, 2013 February 7, 2013 March 7, 2013
April 3, 2013(Wednesday) May 2, 2013 June 6, 2013

July (to be announced) August 1, 2013 September 5, 2013
October 3, 2013 November 7, 2013 December 5, 2013

See back for changes to Michigan’s CPL Law-Effective July 1, 2003




Changes te Michigan"s CCW Law - Effective July 1, 2003

‘Effective July 1, 2003, Michigan® s COW law will be amended to reflect the fol owing changes:

A licensee who is stopped by a police officer is required to immediately 1nform the peace officer that he orshe s -
carrying a firearm. MCL 28.425f(2).

Retired police offi icers who retired "in good standing" are exempt from the firearm training requirements. MCL
28.425L(2).

Pistol Free Zones will no longer apply to refired police officers or pnvate detectives. Also, the following CCW ficensees
who are on duty and in the course of employment may carry in Pistol Free Zones:

1. Sherrff depariment corrections officers and posse rnernbers, '

2. Persons employed or contracted by entities listed as pistol free zones to provide security. services and is required by
his or her employer or by the ierms of a contract to carry a concealed firearm on the premises of the employing or
contracting entity; .

3. Motor carrier officers; -

4. Capitol security officers;

" 5, Auxiliary or reserve officers;

6. Parols or probation officers of the Department of Corrections.

MCL 28.4250(4). :

The license ferm is increased from 3o 5 years MCL 28,4251,

"Peace Officer,” "Retired Peace Officer,” and "Reserve Peace Offi cer," are defi ned for purposes of the Firearms Act.
MCL 28.421.

Licensees are authorized to retain thelr license if they move from the county where the license was granted. The new
address will be reflected when the license is renewed, MCL 28.425b(15). .

The county clerk is authorized fo charge $10 for areplacement license. MCL. 28.425b(15).

The CCW licenge shall be the same size as a Michigan driver iicerrse and shall indicate whether the license holderis
subject to any exemptions under the law and whether the license isa duplicate. .

MCL 28.425¢c.

A suspended or revoked CCW license must be surrendered to the gunboard. MCL 28.425b(16).

The County Concealed Pistol Licensing Board is authorized to have access to the applicant's medical records. The
board must keep the records confidential. MCL 28.425b{l)(c).

_The county clerk may destroy CCW license records one year after the license expires. MCL 28.425h{4).

The application and renewal fee is $105, if done at the sheriff's office. This fee will cover all-costs inc!udlng

* fingerprinting. MCL 28.425b(5).

Local police agencies are autharized to fingerprint applicants and may charge an additional $15. MCL 28. 425b(9)

-
» . The number of misdemeanor convictions that dtsqualrfy an applicant for an 8-year period following the conwchon is

increased. MCL 28.425b(7)(h).

- The 3-year drsqual;ﬂcation pariod for a cc:nvactron of any mrsdemeanor is removed and replaced whha Itst of

misdemeanors requiring a 3-year disqualification period.-MCL 28.425b(7)(i).

The time period a county concealed pistol licensing board has for approving or denying an application is increased
from 30 days to 45 days from receipt of the fingerprint repart. MCL 28.425b(13).

Applicants will be required to fi re at ieast 30 rounds of ammunition durmg the training program

MCL 28.425].

The "Firearms and the Law™ section of the pistol safety training course must be taught by an attorney or an individual
trained in the use of deadly force. MCL 28.425j.

Concealed pistols will be allowed In places where liquor by the glass Is not the primary source of i income. The
establishment may post a sign prohibiting concealed weapons, MCL 28.4250(1)(d):

Parking lots of the "pistol free zones" will not be considered part of the "pistol free zone." MCL 28.4250.

- Canadian police officers are excluded from the I:censmg requirements. MCL 28.432a.
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